iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

084 kickback?

Started by stump farmer, December 01, 2010, 11:45:17 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

stump farmer

Newbie here with a question maybe some of you large saw operators might have some insight on. Had an experienced co-worker get a violent kickback with an 084, 42" bar running 404 (don't have info on what type)chain. He was flushing a stump and the saw kicked back into his knee (no injury due to chaps and a knee brace) hard enough to break the knee brace. Said it was like a rifle shot when it popped and came out of the kerf. I realize there are many factors to a kickback. What I'm wondering is, given the age of this saw design, has anyone experienced or heard that these saws are more prone to kickback than say a newer model 880? Any thoughts? Thanks.

fishpharmer

Welcome to the Forestry Forum.
It's my understanding that newer saws have more "anti kick back" features.  I am no chainsaw expert.  I do know the 880 has an anti kickback hand gaurd brake, it works well.  Not sure about 084. 
Built my own band mill with the help of Forestry Forum. 
Lucas 618 with 50" slabber
WoodmizerLT-40 Super Hydraulic
Deere 5065E mfwd w/553 loader

The reason a lot of people do not recognize opportunity is because it usually goes around wearing overalls looking like hard work. --Tom A. Edison

Cut4fun

084 has the chain break and hand guard too.   I had a 372 has same and the other day came straight back  (rear handle) and busted my shin like that. Things happen be careful.

sharkey

Problem is that these kickbacks happen faster than you can react.  Ive had a big old geardrive come shooting out of the cut from being pinched.  I wonder if the stump weight was an issue in your example?  The cut closed from the weight up the stump and the chain energy had no where to go.

Make it a standard practice to completely wrap your fingers and especially the thumb  around the handles.       

stump farmer