iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

newbie here with a few questions

Started by IFIXBMWS, November 15, 2010, 06:07:57 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

IFIXBMWS

Hello all!
I've been lurking here for a few weeks and my what a wealth of information, before my questions let me give a little background
I'm an auto mechanic by trade and a woodworker by desire, I finished building my bandmill several months ago to offset my
lumberyard and hardwood vendor trips and save some $$ in the long run and had been in the planning stages of a tf addition to my
woodworking shop, well my wife and had been trying for kids for several years to no avail and decided to adopt two young girls after we had taken them as foster kids, well be careful what you wish for! as we are now expecting twins! so needless to say the workshop
is on hold and plans shifted rather than tf shop have decided to build a large "24x48" addition to our existing home and decided to
go tf as it seems to be the fastest way to a roof and for us lowest $$ outlay, our home is a ranch style with 3/12 roof pitch and straight shot across the back with a substantial grade so...plan thus far is slab on grade, continue the 3/12 pitch out 24 feet
shed roof style(at current grade this will leave 9ft ceiling on low side) I have read  "building the timber frame house" by Tedd Benson
and am familiar with mortise/tenon joinery from furniture building. I have a front end loader /backhoe for timber handling and
am no stranger to a saw 3 brothers and lots of friends willing to help and am not afraid of hard work so 1st question is: Is this reasonable to think that I can do this without formal training? 2: how big does a timber need to be to clear span 24 ft (the timber on my property include mature poplar, red oak, white oak and syp) poplar or syp would be easiest as these are the largest straightest timber