iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

Need to replace my Husky 350

Started by g_man, October 21, 2010, 10:52:22 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

g_man

I'm not a pro logger but I have a large wood lot and I run a saw almost every day for one reason or another.
I've been running with a Husky 359 for felling and larger firewood and a 350 for smaller work. I have a lot of thinning of sapplings and small poles and small firewood. I liked the way the 350-18" handled and it's lightness but found it a little delicate. After a couple sprockets and several clutch spring sets, a chain break handle, etc, the ring finally melted so I am going to replace it.
My first thought was a 346XP but when I looked at the specs it is not much different from the 359 ( which is not a bad thing ). Then I looked at the 339XP and it seems it would be areally light handy saw.  Would it run it with a 18" bar. Or should I go with the 346XP ?  Opinions please.

Rocky_J

The 339 is a top handle arborist saw, isn't it? Completely different type of saw designed for tree climbers.

I'd go with the 346 for your described work. The new ones are choked down with the catalytic muffler and lean carb settings but that's practically every saw these days. They run great and will keep running forever once you unplug the muffler to let the heat out.

g_man

Quote from: Rocky_J on October 21, 2010, 11:16:42 AM
The 339 is a top handle arborist saw, isn't it? Completely different type of saw designed for tree climbers.

I don't think so. You could be thinking of the 335/435T. But I might be wrong.

Cut4fun

Brian there is a 339 rear handle built off the top handle motor like the 200 rear handle saw is.  

Cover your eyes it's one ugly girl..       http://www.husqvarna.com/us/forest/products/xp-saws/339-xp-/

I would use the 359 for my small saw and move up to a husky 365-372 for my big saw.  Since your going to spend 500  anyways, mise well jump up a few cc.

Rocky_J

Hahahahahaaa! Isn't that cute!  :D :D :D

Al_Smith