iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

Is forestry a viable career anymore?

Started by wpayne, November 07, 2003, 07:18:25 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

wpayne

I know there are jobs out there but how's the future?  I'm a college student (again) after a career change from the computer field and agriculture in general, forestry specifically are all that seem to interest me.  I don't want to waste 4 years or more in school and have to go back to the computer jobs I gladly left.  I guess the title should be "Can I get a job with my forestry degree?" and if not what do I need to do to be a forester?  I have been in the Army before and I'm willing to relocate for the RIGHT job(s) if they aren't available in my area.  Also, what is a day in the life of a "real" forester like?  I know its not an 8 hour nature walk.  That's enough questions for a first post I guess.  Thanks for any input.

Randy

beenthere

Yes, Forestry is a 'viable' career, and the answer to "can I get a job with my forestry degree?" is "maybe".  That depends on you, your portfolio (sounds like it is pretty full already), and the experience you bring with you. i.e., if you were successful in computers, then that should be a real plus when looking for a job with a 'successful' degree in forestry. There are many options in a degree in Forestry. You may want to look at majoring in one or two of them, depending on your interest. Don't find out too late that you are not really interested in a career, because 4 years in studies is too long to waste. Just getting a degree (in Forestry, or anything) isn't in itself a ticket to a job or career.  It just gives you some of the tools to use to support your work if you get the chance.