iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

any archers here

Started by spencerhenry, July 10, 2010, 07:34:36 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

spencerhenry

bow season is 7 weeks out right now, i shoot about 3 to 5 times a week. i shoot 30 and 40 yds, also have a pin for 20. i have been using the same bow for 3 or 4 years now, it has killed 2 6x6 bull elk, 2 cows, 2 mule deer bucks and some small game. last year i shot my buck at 71 yds. this year i want to be more confident in my longer shots so i am shooting more and at longer distances, will work up to 50 and 60 yds here soon. but i have an issue, i can have my sights set where i am hitting great. but a few days goes by and i am shooting low and left. this has happened a couple of times. i adjust my sights to bring it back on and then a week or two later i am hitting low and left again. i am about out of range on the elevation on my sight, and i am pretty sure that continuing to move the sight is not fixing the problem, just covering it up.
i have made great effort to make sure my anchor point is consistent, and that my hold at full draw is consistent. i adjusted my rest once to help bring the arrows back on track, and it appears to be aligned with the string properly. i do not notice any wobble from my arrows except the ones with fletches that have seen better days. i would like to take some high speed footage of my shooting to see if i am doing something, and to make sure the arrows are flying properly, but i dont have access to high speed video.
anybody got any ideas?
i am shooting an archery research 35, carbon arrows, NO peep sight, wrist release, whisker biscuit rest.

beenthere

I put a peep on the string and that helped the same "trend" that you are getting.
But, finding that peep with a buck walking by sometimes isn't easy to do. Targeting and real hunting are two different things, I've found.