iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

How to cut poplar logs into beams?

Started by 01frick, July 05, 2010, 08:16:26 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

01frick

As you can see I am new at this. Will the beams bow if after squaring the poplar log I cut it into quarters? 

/? 

Magicman

Chances are, it will open up like a banana peel.  And, welcome back home.   :)
Knothole Sawmill, LLC     '98 Wood-Mizer LT40SuperHydraulic   WM Million BF Club Member   WM Pro Sawyer Network

It's Weird being the Same Age as Old People

Never allow your "need" to make money to exceed your "desire" to provide quality service.....The Magicman

01frick

That is what I am worring about. If I make a beam out of the heart and cut as many beams as I can from the rest of the log should this help to prevent bowing?

Slingshot

I recently cut several 6X6 beams 9to13 feet long from poplar and found that a 12X12 quarterd did bow
quite a bit, just like Magicman said. But by cutting them oversize and re-sawing after drying a bit I was
able to make usable beams. I also cut some smaller logs and boxed the heart and they were more stable.
 Boxed heart from a larger log will be more stable also.
    (but anything over a 2X likes to split as they dry   sling_shot )

Magicman

I failed to ask how long.  The longer that they are, the worse it can be.  I once split a 20' Poplar 12X12 cant into 6X6's.  The results were not pretty, or usable.

sling_shot  method will work on shorter cants.
Knothole Sawmill, LLC     '98 Wood-Mizer LT40SuperHydraulic   WM Million BF Club Member   WM Pro Sawyer Network

Never allow your "need" to make money to exceed your "desire" to provide quality service.....The Magicman

Qweaver