iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

House of Fallen Timbers

Started by Fallen Timbers, June 23, 2010, 05:02:19 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Fallen Timbers

Hello All
I've been lurking for a few weeks now and decided to jump in today. I'm building a tiny log cabin out dead trees and found materials trying to spend as little money as possible. My girlfriend thinks its pretty entertaining watching me sling logs around, break tools and sweat like a dog. ;D I have no experience and this forum has been a big help for ideas and examples of what I should be doing. I'm journaling my project on my blog, http://houseoffallentimbers.blogspot.com/. Check it out when you need a good laugh.

As you can see I did a really poor job on the foundation and I understand now that if I want a cabin to last I need to make much more substantial provisions for the foundation. Maybe next time.

Thats OK. I'm learning from my mistakes and having a blast building my first little cabin.

Anyway, just wanted to introduce myself and share some photos from my blog hope you enjoy them and hope to make some new friends.

My first split log.

My first piece of porch furniture.

Scraping the bugs and mud off the salvaged decking from an old bridge.

Chuck White

Welcome to the Forestry Forum!

Hang around here a little while and you'll have plenty of friends!

This is a good place to learn anything that has to do with wood!
~Chuck~  Cooks Cat Claw sharpener and single tooth setter.  2018 Chevy Silverado and 2021 Subaru Ascent.
With basic mechanical skills and the ability to read you can maintain a Woodmizer  LT40!

Magicman

Well, good for you and Welcome to The Forestry Forum.   Someday, I really want to build a log cabin.
Knothole Sawmill, LLC     '98 Wood-Mizer LT40SuperHydraulic   WM Million BF Club Member   WM Pro Sawyer Network

It's Weird being the Same Age as Old People

Never allow your "need" to make money to exceed your "desire" to provide quality service.....The Magicman

Warbird