iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

medium bowl blanks

Started by woeboy, June 14, 2010, 09:12:52 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

woeboy

hi all,

Over the weekend I had a customer contact me and tell me he wanted a few 12"x 12" x 4" medium bowl blanks, so today i sawed it up and sent him some pics of 2 to make see how many he wanted and to show him what they were looking like and sure enough................ Now he doesnt want them, no reason or anything, so I got to thinkin maybe something's not right with them. I am completely new to this so its off to you pros :P,
I sealed the ends with anchorseal and was asking $10 per. ( too expensive????)

thanks for any advice or criticisms  :) smiley_sun  :)

the first one

the second one

MP_Wall

As a sometimes turner, I can tell you that it would be better if the pith not be left in a bowl blank. The wood looks awesome, it is just that the pith will have to be turned away and that leaves you very little size left for a bowl. If you leave the pith in it will split as it dries or often will cause the bowl to shift from round to wavy.   MPW

woeboy

would i want to keep the pith out of general turning stock also?

thank you :P

metalspinner

Yep.  The pith cannot be in the blank.  The wood is very pretty and $10 is a fair price for a blank that size without the pith and the first few rings around it.  Sealing the ends is a nice touch.  You can still salvage 4" from each side of the blank to market as "vase" blanks or something.

What kind of wood is that?  Anytime the wood is spalted and still solid, you should not have any problem selling it to woodturners.  Lately, I have been turning natural edge bowls.  These would be from the first slab taken from the log only thicker than normal.
I do what the little voices in my wife's head tell me to do.

low_48