iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

Keepin' you posted...

Started by BrandonTN, May 25, 2010, 12:38:20 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

BrandonTN

Hey y'all! For good or for ill I'm signing on to a 2-year master's program in forest ecology at the University of Helsinki. As some of you know I studied abroad for my undergraduate senior year in Finland in a small town called Joensuu. Last year I realized that my doing a master's degree was now or never because I don't see myself returning to school once the rubber hits the road. So last autumn I started applying.....I applied to 5 colleges out west and to 2 in Europe (Finland & Sweden) in the US, but none offered any assistantships (tuition waivers). Humboldt State accepted, but with no financial support offer...the other US schools have no funding, too.

While in Finland, despite being far from home and out of my climate comfort zone, I secretly hoped the US schools would decline. Sweden ended up declining me, but the University of Hel. in Finland accepted me, and the beauty is there is NO TUITION at the school, even for foreigners. (My parents still don't believe it.) However, I do not qualify for US federal student loans (to help pay for rent/food) because the school is not a "title IV" overseas school that participates; so this summer I'm working my butt off saving. Fortunately I got a summer gig in Montrose, CO with the Forest Service on a timber crew starting June 7th...a heavy fire season in CO could help cushion my purse...Finland is expensive for non-Finnish students!! (Finnish students receive 600 euros/month from government for rent).

I figure in the long run I'll be glad I did this. My concern now is thinking of a thesis project at least half-way relevant to silviculture in the US. Any suggestions on silvicultural thesis ideas that would relate to some US western species silviculture? My professor at Univ TN suggested I try to get my thesis work published in a North American journal...that sounds good to me.