iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

band lube

Started by maineshops, April 19, 2010, 09:09:12 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

maineshops

i am new to milling. i see that most of the group uses water to lube the blade. i have never heard of lubeing metal with water. i've been using bar oil and kero mix. am i missing something? i'm just a hobby operation.
Phil:4, 13

Chuck White

I use 5 gallon water jug with about 4-5 tablespoons of dishsoap added.
The water mix not only lubes the blade, but it cleans & cools it too.

I also have a windshield washer tank (from an old car) with the pump still on it and when I get a blade
that is built up with pitch, I just give it a small amount of kerosene/gear-oil mix.  Cleans the blade like new.

Forgot, welcome to the Forestry Forum.

~Chuck~  Cooks Cat Claw sharpener and single tooth setter.  2018 Chevy Silverado and 2021 Subaru Ascent.
With basic mechanical skills and the ability to read you can maintain a Woodmizer  LT40!

Brad_S.

Welcome to the forum.
If you do a search, you will find there are two schools of thought on lubes and each school is very opinionated regarding the others thoughts. I use straight diesel and feel it is superior to water mixes and have never experienced any negative side effects from it. Others feel strongly against diesel/kero. If it is working to your satisfaction, keep using it.
"Life is what happens to you while you're busy making other plans." J. Lennon

Tom

Mainshops,
The use of the term "lubricant" is almost a misnomer.  While it is a lubricant, it isn't a lubricant in the same respect that Oil on a bearing is a lubricant.