iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

Anybody else running Select, Heartwood or other double cutting Bandmill?

Started by slohand, April 19, 2010, 12:28:01 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

slohand

Newbie here. Just wondering if anybody else is running Select mills, or other similar double cutting wide band mills. It would be nice to swap some tips and ideas on these mills with other owners.

Tom

We've had very few over the years, but now and again someone shows up.  Stick around and join in.  All these conversations start with one guy.  If he leaves, you never get to the second guy.  :D  Welcome to the forum.

pasbuild

If it can't be nailed or glued then screw it

slohand

Thanks for the welcome. I'm not really surprised you don't hear much about Select mills since there aren't that many around, maybe 100 worldwide. I think by comparison there are over 30 thousand WM,  so it stands to reason that you get a lot more discussion on orange mills.
My mill is a stationary electric/hydraulic/air setup running the 6" double cutting blades, but I can assure you if I was looking at a very portable setup the Select 3620 diesel would be the only mill I would consider.  Very reliable and cheap blade costs which might surprise a lot of people. Yes the blades are $300 a pop, but we often can run 5000 feet or more on a $40 sharpening and they last for years... I recently replaced a set of 20 that were 3 years old and ground down from 6" to only 4.5" ... well over 100 sharpenings.
Anyway if anybody wants info...  I've only got a couple of recent pixs of mill, which has around 15
thousand hours on it. Guys nearby have one with over 30 thousand. They were *pithed that they actually had to change the main bearings recently... Another pix of a small local stick.

backwoods sawyer