iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

Producing survey/construction stakes

Started by bunst, April 13, 2010, 06:59:32 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

bunst

I'm a Land Surveyor and there are limited sources to buy stakes locally. Ive heard from colleagues and contractors their frustration at finding good stakes at a decent price. I'm thinking that it could be good income if I could produce and market them. What I'm talking about are the 4' 1"x1" grade stakes usually made from maple or oak. It would be no problem to produce the 1"x1" strips, but it is pointing them that has me stumped. Ideally they would be pointed like a pencil. I found a stake pointer for sale online, but it is very pricey. Any ideas how to home build one?

Papa1stuff

Can't help you ,but been wondering the same thing ;D
1987 PB Grader with forks added to bucket
2--2008 455 Rancher Husky
WM CBN Sharpener & Setter

ladylake

Lee Valley has one for $70, it is used on a electric drill. If I was doing a lot I'd mount it in a drill press, maybe mount the drill press horizontal. If it goes good then get a commerical one.    Steve
Timberking B20  18000  hours +  Case75xt grapple + forks+8" snow bucket + dirt bucket   770 Oliver   Lots(too many) of chainsaws, Like the Echo saws and the Stihl and Husky     W5  Case loader   1  trailers  Wright sharpener     Suffolk  setter Volvo MCT125c skid loader

stonebroke

Hudson sells one. might be too pricy for your it is designed to be used commeciallly.

Stonebroke

bunst

Yes, the pointer from Hudson is the one I was refering to which is expensive. Ladylake, I couldn't find it on the Lee Valley website; discontinued?

Larry

The heads are all similar and that is what does the work.  I used to have maybe a 100 year old hand powered pointer for tobacco sticks...I was lazy and put one of those fancy lectric motors on it.

Larry, making useful and beautiful things out of the most environmental friendly material on the planet.