iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

best felling techniques

Started by treefarmer87, March 29, 2010, 12:10:57 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

treefarmer87

i have a row of huge poplar in between a garage and power line. there are about 20 18" - 32" good veneer poplar sawlogs. i want to bring them down in between the garage and power line not on them, i have been told to pull them down with my skidder. the guy told me to hook to the tree horizontal crank the winch so the skidder comes up sideways on two wheels, and the weight of the skidder will bring the tree on over-sounds unsafe and scary to me :o   there is about 40-50 yards in between,  i know im gonna wedge the trees and i can cut and fell pretty good for someone my age but i want this to be perfect- i dont have any room for error. im no expert i will greatly appreicate any input, tips, or helpful hints.
1994 Ford L9000
2004 Tigercat 718
1998 Barko 225
1999 John Deere 748G
FEC 1550 slasher
CTR 314 Delimber
Sthil 461
Sthil 250

DonT

I would be careful.If you pre-tension the tree,you could create a barber pole when you start your back cut, I always use a heavy duty cargo strap,about two feet above the backcut when pulling trees.Masdamm rope puller works well,or there are a number of differant ways to achieve MA(mechanical advantage)using ropes and pulleys.

RSteiner

That sounds dangerous to me.  :o

I have a rope puller that works very good in situations like yours, it works better if there are two of you one to work the puller while the other does the cutting.  The danger when putting tension on a tree is putting too much too soon and ending up with a barber chair or worse the tree twisting and falling in the wrong direction.