iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

In need of business opinions

Started by trey_w, October 14, 2003, 04:44:18 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

trey_w

Ok, Some brief background.  I'm VERY new to anything having to do with lumber/woodworking.  I started woodworking as a hobby about a year ago but I travel so much I rarely have time to do it.  I've built a couple of small things and still have all my fingers, but I feel like I'm just starting on the learning curve.  

My dad retired about a year ago (not by choice) but due to lack of retirement planning (also not his fault, long story) I need something for him to do.  I have some money saved and have been kicking around the idea of maybe starting a hardwood lumberyard.  I don't know if I'll cut down my own trees but I'd like to get a Woodmizer and do my own sawmill work and dry the wood myself for resale.  I have NO idea what I'm getting myself into.  I don't plan on leaving my current job for awhile but would like the business to support me if it can.  I've been doing some research and I plan on doing a lot more but I'd really like to hear if...  1. Is this doable?  and 2. What questions should I be asking?  I just found this site today so I'll be doing alot of reading, but I'd appreciate any help.

Thanks,
Trey   :)
If you put your two cents in and only get a penny for your thoughts...who gets the change?

Frank_Pender

Trey, there are some past thread running around here that have almost everythin you are looking for.  I am sure Tom will let us know where they are located. ;D

Short thoughts;
Do a resource analysis of:
1. dollars available to feed the startup for perhaps a year
2. market sources for what you are sawing
3. equipment purchasing issies like log handling equipmnet, kiln container and support materials, fall down resedue 9getting rid of it) sawdust,slabs, etc.
4. competition in milling a merketing what you saw
5. space availability for lumber storage, drying,, log decking area adequate to do the job
6. etc.