iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

Big crack in firebox wall

Started by Chuckolicious, March 14, 2010, 10:59:44 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Chuckolicious

Oh boy.  Today went out and discovered a nice big crack on the back wall down by the air holes.  If you are looking into the box, the lower left hole in the back, just above it a crack goes up about 5-6 inches almost to the point where the wall jogs bag.  Wide enough for a butter knife.

thecfarm

Sounds like this thread form a few weeks back,   https://forestryforum.com/board/index.php/topic,42501.0.html
That is too bad.Lean on them guys,it's not your fault.
Model 6020-20hp Manual Thomas bandsaw,TC40A 4wd 40 hp New Holland tractor, 450 Norse Winch, Heatmor 400 OWB,YCC 1978-79

doctorb

Chuckolicious-

This is my first year burning with the E2300 and it's been great.  I noticed a vertical seam / crack in the same area you mentioned....left side between the back left air hole and the center duct for the gas ingnition.  It's so straight that I thought that it was an expansion joint, but your post, as well as spacedog's previous posts, make me worry.  It seems to extend from the back wall where the holes are and angles back to the vertical wall of the firebox.  that is, it extends across the "shelf" in the back.  I have emailed spacedog to ask for the pics of his crack (I just reread that last sentence and it doesn't seem right to talk to a stanger like that!).  I'll be telling my dealer about it.  Do you have any pics of your crack? :D :D  Sorry, just making myself laugh a bit. Anyway, I would appreciate any insight you have and any response you may have received from CB.

Doctorb
My father once said, "This is my son who wanted to grow up and become a doctor.  So far, he's only become a doctor."

doctorb