iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

Safety Rules

Started by woodsteach, February 28, 2010, 05:36:52 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

woodsteach

Since I'm a woods teacher and since this is woodworking I thought this would be a good place for this information.
There should a pdf of the safety rules that my students must know before they are allowed to work with the power tools. 

Knock on wood I've had 2 students have accidents in the 15 years of doing this. 

woodsteach
Brand X Swing Mill, JD 317 Skidloader, MS460 & 290, the best family a guy could ever dream of...all provided by God up above.  (with help from our banker ; ) )

D._Frederick

When my son took a wood working class at the age of 12, the instructor set home a list of shop equipment that I had to sign off if I felt that he was not safe to use. I didn't think it was safe for him to start off using a table saw and jointer on short length or narrow pieces.

Some types of equipment are a lot dangerous than others. When I started buying wood working machinary, I thought that a radial arm saw would do more things. There was an add in the paper for a craftman saw for about half price, I went and looked at and asked the guy why he was selling it, since he was in the cabinet making business.   He held up his hands and he didn't have a thumb on his left hand.

woodsteach

Quote from: D._Frederick on February 28, 2010, 07:05:02 PM
   He held up his hands and he didn't have a thumb on his left hand.

I tell the students to arch their fingers, then the thumb tucks in behind the index finger instead of laying your hand flat, then the thumb sticks out and is usually too close to the blade.
Brand X Swing Mill, JD 317 Skidloader, MS460 & 290, the best family a guy could ever dream of...all provided by God up above.  (with help from our banker ; ) )

Don_Papenburg

More times than not missing digets are more the fault of the operator than that of the machine.