iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

Do you wear a wedding ring in the field?

Started by Jeb, February 28, 2010, 04:11:52 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Jeb

I am just getting started in the farming / timber business and want to learn as much as I can from you! That is, I'd rather learn from your mistakes than learning the hard way all the time.  So, in the area of safety, do you wear your wedding or other ring when you are out working in the field or on the job?  If not, do you have any first hand experience that affected your decision?

Thanks,

--Jeb

breederman

I do not, because I was always bending and I was afraid of getting it caught. A lot of farmers do wear theirs though. How does your wife feel about it?
Together we got this !

Dave Shepard

We had a hired hand when I was a kid that lost his finger jumping off a hay wagon. Ring got caught on a nail. :o All this mans brothers, and I think his father, had lost fingers, or more, working on farms and in sawmills. When his first son was born, he had an extra finger on each hand, and an extra toe on each foot.
Wood-Mizer LT40HDD51-WR Wireless, Kubota L48, Honda Rincon 650, TJ208 G-S, and a 60"LogRite!

thecfarm

I just about always wear gloves when I'm doing anything with wood.Have never had a bad experience when I had gloves on.But at work,wearing no gloves,I was climbing on a rack to look at something and I jumped down and my ring caught.Than I wonder why they always say to get a ladder.Would of been a lot worse another few inches higher.Did cut into my finger some.I've heard stories about rings getting caught while jumping off the sides or back of trucks.
Model 6020-20hp Manual Thomas bandsaw,TC40A 4wd 40 hp New Holland tractor, 450 Norse Winch, Heatmor 400 OWB,YCC 1978-79

Norm

Sure do I saw a guy weld his wedding ring on while working on a line accelerator (x-ray system) and that was enough for me to not wear one. As for my wife she knows me well enough to not worry about it.

Magicman