iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

Eclassic front burn only

Started by stumper, February 26, 2010, 04:45:04 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

stumper

For some reason my E classic is only burning the front half of the wood box.  I have cleaned everything and all the air holes are open but it still is only burning the front half of the wood.  It has alway burned the front better then the rear but now it will burn the front completely and everything behind the reaction chamber hole will just be smoked to charred.

Any thoughts?

ken999

stumper

No obvious problem with the door gasket but this is its second heating season.

firechief

Stumper,
This is my first year running the eclassic.  I was told by my dealer that CB told them to load all my wood in the front for the stove inside the door and not to worry about the back.  Not knowing any better being a newbie, that's what I've always done and have no problems as of yet.

doctorb

I,too, have noticed that the front wood burns prior to the back.  However, when it's left to it's own devices, all the wood is eventually burned without a decrease in temperature or efficiency.  So, in my mind, while the front burn occurs, it's not a problem.  Are you sasying that wood left at the back doesn't burn at all?  I find that hard to believe.

Doctorb
My father once said, "This is my son who wanted to grow up and become a doctor.  So far, he's only become a doctor."

stumper

The wood in front has been burning completely, coals and all.  Exposing the hole to the reaction chamber.  The wood in back is largely untouched.  I have not lost temperature and it may burn the back if left long enough. 

Historically, it has burnt 60% front 40% rear.  Now I would say 90% front 10% rear.

doctorb

Stumper