iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

locust sawing

Started by heavyhorseman, October 08, 2003, 08:49:13 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

heavyhorseman

I am new to the sawmilling operations, having just purchased a new Baker 18HD sawmill. I am in the process of cutting some big locust trees, and will be the first logs I cut on my new mill. Can anyone out there give me any advice on cutting the hard locust, and is cutting it any different than any other hardwood. Is there a better blade to use for this wood. Any info would be greatly appreciated. Thanks

Jeff

Welcome HHM Glad to have you aboard and congrats on the new Baker. Don't know anything about locust cause we aint got any but the others will for sure.
Just call me the midget doctor.
Forestry Forum Founder and Chief Cook and Bottle Washer.

Commercial circle sawmill sawyer in a past life for 25yrs.
Ezekiel 22:30

Kevin

Hey Heavy, welcome to the forum.
I can't help you with the locust but all I want to say is don't be disappointed if your mill doesn't cut real well with that stuff.
I cut lots of cedar and other nice milling wood on my new saw before I hit a stressed out poplar.
I knew the mill was cutting well on the other stuff so it most likely wasn't any fault of the mill, and it wasn't.
It was the tree.

Bro. Noble

Welcome,

We have cut a little honey locust.  Don't remember any problems------seems it was about like cutting white oak.
milking and logging and sawing and milking

ronwood

Welcome to the forum heavyhorseman. I have cut around 100 bd ft of locus without any problems. Probably not enough to guage how well it cuts. Have fun with your new mill.
Sawing part time mostly urban logs -St. Louis/Warrenton, Mo.
LT40HG25 Woodmizer Sawmill
LX885 New Holland Skidsteer

oakiemac

I cut several hundred feet of Black Locust a while back. I don't recall any major problems except the wood had an unusual smell and kind of a yellowish color.
Welcome to the forum! :)