iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

New or Used saws

Started by boobap, February 05, 2010, 07:48:23 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

boobap

just curious...i would rather buy used and replace any worn or broken parts, but I am a cheap ba%t#rd!!!!

Stutz

It really depends.
To add a saw to a collection I would go   used – very used
To buy a saw to earn a living     new – almost new

Rocky_J

I make my living with my saws. I have done the used saw thing (money has always been tight), but used saws end up costing me too much. It's cheaper for me to buy new than to fix something that somebody else has misused/abused.

I run all modified saws now and have learned that ALL used modified saws for sale are not worth it. People simply do not spend the money to get a saw ported and then sell it unless it's a dog. And after having about 20 saws ported, I've found that at least half of them are dogs. And ALL of the low-hour ported saws for sale are dogs. People sell their mistakes.

Al_Smith

It's more of a hobby to me although I do use the noisey things . In my life time I've bought two new saws and I still have them ,they run just fine .

If I were making a living with a saw ,it would be new ones .Since I don't I can be selective with used ones .Twitter and tweak all I care to .If they run like scalded apes or fly apart like a dollar watch I'm not out any thing other than my time and a few bucks .Sooo if they come apart on me of which they never have ,I just trot off to the shed and get another one . With like 40 runners it's not likely I'll wear them all out . 8)

boobap

40? i wish...at my rate, well, my wifes rate (unless i hide them) i will be like 80  :D before i have 40...i only have 9 and i turn 30  :'( at the end of this month

chucker