iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

Newbie from Nova Scotia

Started by stanfan, February 03, 2010, 10:44:38 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

stanfan

Hello everyone,

I've been lurking for the last few weeks and enjoying the wealth of information on this forum....moderators, if this is in the wrong place, please feel free to move it.

Being a newbie, I have a tonne of questions, so let me get started....

We recently bought a 100+ year old house on a 55 acre parcel of land that borders two lakes and a smelt brook.  The house is at the front of the land and both lakes are almost at the end of the land.  There was a foot path there back to the lake but the elderly couple who we bought the house from did not keep it up.  I plan on purchasing a portable mill (still researching them) to cut wood off of my land for my own purposes.  The properly is almost 2 miles deep I think.

A hurricane blew through here 5 years ago and there is a lot of hurricane damage.  Our house is about 250 from the ocean (across the road).  I bought a 4 wheeler, small logging trailer and a Stihl MS260 and have been picking away at the wind damage, making a 4 wheeler sized path that'll eventually reach back to the lakes.  The land is quite rugged and there is a 300 ft. ridge through the centre of the property.

Is there anyone from the atlantic provinces on here that either cleaned up after this damage or had tried to remanage their lot after such a storm.  There is quite a bit of undergrowth scattered in amongst the windfall and the fir trees are quite thick in places...I assume I'll have to thin them out eventually.

Thanks so much,

Rob

Hilltop366

Hi and welcome from another Nova Scotian sounds like a very nice property, must be around Halifax area or north west of it to have lots of damage from Juan. Didn't get much damage from it down here in Yarmouth Co. but have had lots of winds since.