iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

comparison

Started by David_c, October 02, 2003, 07:03:46 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

David_c

i was looking for a comparison between the stihl 460 and husky 385 any thoughts.

Gus

David,
I don't know enough about these newer saws to help you much. Be interesting to see what someone comes up with.
Gus
"How do I know what I think unless I have seen what I say?"

SawInIt CA

I have used both and bought a 460. With that said it had more to do with the dealer. I also like the "feel" of the 460. You can go the thier websites and get the stats on both.

Adamj

I don't have much experience with Husky. But, I believe the main difference is that the Husky is orange while the Stihl is orange and white.  I hope this helps.   ;D

David_c

i am new to stihl & huskys allways used junk. bought a 372 great saw but i wanted to try a stihl. was going to buy a used 066 for $400 but when i was at the dealers today i was checking out the 460 felt great in my hand and for a few hundred more and new what the hey. well i just wanted to see what you guys like better the 460 or 385. when i get the saw i'll let you know what i think of it.

Rob

Hey David,

Personally I like my 385XP better compared to the MS 460,one of the main reasons is because I think Husky has a much better anti vibe setup they just seem smoother than the Stihls..The air injection is a nice thing also.Dont get me wrong both are good saws I just think the 385 is a better one thats all..I'm sure Russ will contribute to this thread cause I know he owns both of these saws..I hope this helps a little bit

Rob.

SasquatchMan

Having just purchased a new Stihl (though not a huge one), I've just held a bunch of Stihls and Huskies, and read an awful lot about both, here and at other forums, and their sites.