iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

new member (sawmill question)

Started by b dukes, January 10, 2010, 02:01:37 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

b dukes

Hello, everyone! I am really new to all of this and have alot of question. I want to purchase a sawmill of my own. I have been looking but am not sure what kind would be the best. I think the Belsaw m14 ?  I also have been talking with a man that has a meadows mill for sale.  I want a mill that is pto powered, I have a 80hp tractor.  I have a friend that said his grandfather had an old mill , after digging through the wood what we found was a sawmill but in pieces. It seems to be all there, but has a wooden frame that is almost all rotted away. I will post some pics when we go back and get it this weekend so maybe someone can tell me what I have.

Bibbyman

Welcome to the forum.   8)

Good luck on your project.
Wood-Mizer LT40HDE25 Super 25hp 3ph with Command Control and Accuset.
Sawing since '94

WH_Conley

Welcome to the forum. You have come to the right place. If that mill can be identified anywhere it will be right here. Either someone has one or can point you in the right direction to get info.
Bill

beenthere

Welcome to the forum.
Sounds exciting.
If you haven't already, look back at previous posts that have members' pics and experiences finding similar piles of mills without much wood support left. Think in Bibyman's gallery you will find some as well.
south central Wisconsin
It may be that my sole purpose in life is simply to serve as a warning to others

Magicman

I can't help you with your circle mill questions, but I can say Welcome to The Forestry Forum.  There are plenty of experienced circle mill sawyers here..... 8)
Knothole Sawmill, LLC     '98 Wood-Mizer LT40SuperHydraulic   WM Million BF Club Member   WM Pro Sawyer Network

It's Weird being the Same Age as Old People

Never allow your "need" to make money to exceed your "desire" to provide quality service.....The Magicman

Meadows Miller

Gday