iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

newbie question

Started by knowslittle, January 09, 2010, 09:21:28 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

knowslittle

Another newbie here asking yet another newbie-type question. Thanks for your patience.

Have my first log work project coming up (hopefully), and from all I've read, I need to use a chipper type of chain.

Tried my local Stihl dealer and one of the advertisers here, and both seem to not know anything about chipper chains, but seem to want to sell me semi-chisel chains.

Are these one and the same?

If not, any advise on where to get chipper chains  (Stihl MS260 pro)

Appreciate your knowledge and time!
Bob

Rocky_J

If you're talking to a Stihl dealer, tell him you want the RM chain instead of the RS chain. Sometimes you have to speak to them in their own language. ;)

Kevin

Chipper and semi chisel would be the same.

If you are cutting clean standing trees and bucking them in the snow chisel chain would be good.
Chipper chain if you are bucking dirty logs that have been skidded through a little dirt.

peppone

I think they are same chains called with different words.
you're invited to visit my forum all about chainsaws:
http://lamotosega.forumattivo.com/forum.htm
saluti
peppone

jander3

For log building...cutting notches, grooves, etc. use chipper or semi-chisel chain.   Chisel or full-chisel chain is too aggressive.  Some log builders, after they gain experience, use full chisel chain because it cuts faster.  I don't mind using full-chisel chain on lateral grooves, but for notching I stick with chipper chain.

Stihl Chain

.325 pitch = 23RM, 25RM, or 26RM

3/8 pitch = 33RM, 35RM, or 36RM

Oregon, Carlton, and Bailey's also make suitable chipper chains (send PM if you need the numbers for these brands).