iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

Timberharvester 3 phase mill advise

Started by cubdriver55, January 04, 2010, 09:47:33 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

cubdriver55

I have had an old Fredrick mill for years but I am new to band mills. I purchased a Timberharvester 30HTE25  3 phase electric mill. The mill is a 2002 model that was only run 1.2 hrs. The owner passed away and his wife finally decided to sell the mill. I want to change this mill over to diesel. My question is how hard is this and is it worth it? I have a 30 H.P.  phase converter which is too small to run this mill but could I add an additional idler motor and run the mill this way? I think this is what the original owner had in mind because the mill also came with a 40 H.P. electric motor strapped to it on a pallet. The only thing I don't like about this is the mill is no longer mobil. The other option is a large 3 phase generator. I am looking for advise, please let me know what you think?  Thanks  Steve

backwoods sawyer

Where you located? The mill down the road from me just pulled a 62hp Perkins off his Cook mill and converted it to 3 phase.
Backwoods Custom Milling Inc.
100% portable. . Oregons largest portable sawmill service, serving all of Oregon, from our Backwoods to yours..sawing since 1991

cubdriver55

I am in Virginia but it is a possibility. I could check on shipping.  Thanks

bandmiller2

I think the timberharvestor functions are hydraulic if so a repower would be practical.I would try to find the same mill with an engine and study its setup.The outher option you mentioned is not a bad one, big used diesel generators are not too hard to find and could power alot of shop equipment and serve as standby power also.Frank C.
A man armed with common sense is packing a big piece

Magicman

cubdriver,  I can't help you with your question, but I can say......Welcome to The Forestry Forum..... 8)