iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

coping log posts

Started by knowslittle, December 20, 2009, 11:45:57 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

knowslittle

Newbie here again, asking pehaps some remedial questions, but hoping to gain some insight from the board's experience.
  Very little experince w/ logs, I'm building 4 trellis' and asked to cope log posts into the log above it.  Given the economy, hate to turn any work down.
   Can anyone recommend the tooling and procedure to cope a log post into a log beam?  Did a search, and although helpful, still have unanswered questions.
  I'm thinking initial cut w/ Makita  electric chainsaw(w/ carving bar and chain?), following with perhaps handwork w/ a gouge, then finish to the line w/ disc sander.
  Experienced finish carpenter/millwright for some 25 years, but this round-into-round concept is a bit daunting.

thanks!
Bob

jander3

Not sure what you mean by coping.  Below is info on joining a log to a beam.

Mortise and tenon

Here a tenon was cut on the post and a flat spot with mortise was cut on the beam.

If you don't like the look of the flat on the beam, you can cut the tenon on the post, cut the mortise in the round log and then scribe the post to the beam (you can see a basic example at the following url: http://peelinglogs.blogspot.com/2008/12/blog-post_28.html)

knowslittle

Sorry. The correct spelling (me thinks) is copeing.  Similar to your blog(thank you) but copeing (scribing) one log to the other @90 degrees, hence a post-to-beam fit.  Although there is no need for a tenon, as the engineeer calls for GRK fasteners, so all that is needed is to scribe fit one log end to the other.  Just not sure which tooling and procedure is most efficient, and I would like to be efficient as this will be on a fixed contract price.

Thanks for your time,
Bob

Ironwood