iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

Nyle L200

Started by ahlkey, December 20, 2009, 08:17:16 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

ahlkey

I have just completed the Chamber for a used Nyle L200.  What is the best electric heater to use to preheat the chamber?  I do have access to gas but it seems electric would be better for my needs which then could be used for other heating needs at times. Anything special I should consider to preheat the chamber?

red oaks lumber

what do you mean by "pre heat the chamber". aren't you going to load the chamber with wood then turn your kiln unit on which already has a heater built in it.
or are you asking about adding additional heat to it? if so use elec. heat, gas heat will starve out for lack of oxegen.
the experts think i do things wrong
over 18 million b.f. processed and 7341 happy customers i disagree

Den Socling

red oaks,

I'm no expert with DH kilns but the ones I have seen need auxiliary heat to get the ball rolling. Then excess heat from the compressed side supplies the heat needed to evaporate water.

red oaks lumber

den,
i run dh kilns, i add extra heat by using hotwater blown thru heat exchangers. his wording of preheat the chamber sounds like when you preheat your oven then put in the food.
when i ran  my L200's  1 had hotwater makeup heat, the 2nd i put a 6" dia. stove pipe thru the wall and ran a diesel salamander heater for extra startup heat

scsmith42

Why wouldn't the 5KW heat strips inside the L200 take care of the heating needs?
Peterson 10" WPF with 65' of track
Smith - Gallagher dedicated slabber
Tom's 3638D Baker band mill
and a mix of log handling heavy equipment.

red oaks lumber

it would but, in the winter with frozen wood it takes about 3 days to get up to 80 deg. to have the comp. start drying. for me pumping extra heat i'm up to temp. in 8 hours.(time is money)

scsmith42

ok - that makes sense.