iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

Heat Exchanger Hook-up

Started by Tim Crowley, December 09, 2009, 11:40:26 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Tim Crowley

Folks, I've been operating my eclassic for about 5 months now, but it's being tested in Vermont temps. now.  Wanted to ask this question:  I've got a 50 plate heat exchanger into the bottom of which my line-in is connected.  Said another way, the water from the outside boiler is connected to the bottom of the heat exchanger, then comes out the top.  Is that the right hook-up, or am I missing something?  I've read a thread on this on the forum, but I can't seem to find it.  Thoughts?  Tim

beenthere

Seems the hot from the boiler would come in the top of the HE and the cooled water would exit the bottom.
Edit:  Upon closer look at the link I see that the hot water supply does come in at the bottom of the HE and returns out the top. So Tim, agree yours is right. Sorry for the confusion I added.  ::) ::)

When heating the water like in the wood fired boiler, the cold would come in the bottom and the hot out the top.

The house loop (if hydronic), the return water would come to the heat exchanger at the bottom and the warmer water out the top.
Make sense?

This was discussed recently (haven't found the thread) and the thought was along these lines. There were pics or drawings of how it should be.

This one might help.
http://www.centralboiler.com/forcedAirDet.html
south central Wisconsin
It may be that my sole purpose in life is simply to serve as a warning to others

Tim Crowley