iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

Your mills origin, the beginnings

Started by D Hagens, December 04, 2009, 10:54:31 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

D Hagens

Hi guys, I have a few questions for you all.
I've been looking at mills for a few years now, tried a few, almost bought one but yet I'm still looking.
I've received information and videos on many a mill and I'm very impressed with the many different features on each and every mill.
I've had phone calls and e-mail from a lot of manufactures and I've been impressed with each and everyone of them.
I'm a photographer part time and I'm going to assume that mills are like cameras, we all have our favourites' so I'm not going to ask anyone that question as it could turn ugly!
The questions will be like this: When and where did your mill manufacture start and in what year? I see through the brochures all the great things but I can never see the actual start day and info like that. Like the real start up stuff, things that they don't advertise but yet a true mill owner would know.
The other thing is have you and people you know in the past been 100% happy with the customer service? This can be a simple yes or no answer as I'm sure along the way there's been a few boo-boo's along the way on both sides.
So here's a topic where the blue, orange, yellow, green. Red....am I missing a color.......mill owners can share some knowledge
Thanks!

backwoods sawyer

I bought a mill from a well-established builder, they had been around since the mid 80's, however, the mill that I bought was the very first one of its kind, a proto type, and was build in December 2001. Being a proto type, I have had a few customer service issues that other mill owners from the same manufacture have not had.
Backwoods Custom Milling Inc.
100% portable. . Oregons largest portable sawmill service, serving all of Oregon, from our Backwoods to yours..sawing since 1991

DanG