iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

greenhorn from michigan here.

Started by tomsteve, November 25, 2009, 07:24:12 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

tomsteve

i came across this forum lookin for info on bandmills and, man, there's a lot of good knowledge here! glad i found ya'll
      i am a forced-into-retirement carpenter. i have done some aspect of woodworking pretty much all of my life( i'm 42 now). i have a friend that has an old barn on her property( laying in a pile from a storm) that her husband was gonna burn, but she was able to get him to let me take a look at it and see if there was any wood i might want out of it., well, the barn was built in 1902, and it is old growth pine for the majority,plus some maple was foun, but i am still takin it apart.
     i have quite a bit of the hand hewn beams here waiting to be milled, and that is where i thought about a bandmill. got surfin and see where a lot of people have built their own and i know i can do it. access to complete machine shop is at my disposal( and i know how to use the machinery in it), have a lot of the parts already on hand, and access to auto and farm equipment salvage machinery.
     i dont plan on starting the build until after Christmas as i gotta get kickin on makin Christmas gifts( might be bags of sawdust this year). so i'll be seeing and meeting you all around.

almost forgot... the names tom.  long story about the nick and gotta get goin here.

VictorH

Welcome from one greenhorn to another.  Lots of great knowledge here.  I thought about building my own then decided to spend that time making the money to just buy one.  ;)  If you have not found them already there is a site called DYIbandmill.com  They are all about self built units.  Very helpful folks as well

mcfcfan

Well come aboard tomsteve, yes there is a wealth of knowledge on here.
My name is Lee from Petersons check out our website to your left.