iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

Rotation length & saw timber production /ac of loblolly in GA

Started by BrandonTN, October 30, 2009, 09:08:09 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

BrandonTN

I am curious to know what is the typical rotation length for a stand of loblolly pines in Georgia, or other areas in the Southeast where loblolly does best. I want to compare it with the rotation of length of Scots pine stands here in Finland. Yes, for those of you who don't know, I'm studying forestry abroad in Finland until May 2010, then I'll graduate. I'm taking a course called Boreal Forests: Their Function and Management. Typical silviculture kind of class. We used an ecosystem management model called IMPACT that simulated a Scots pine stand over an 80 year rotation, while having the options of applying thinnings as often and as intensely as we wanted.

With two thinnings applied over the course of the 80 year rotation,  450 m3/hectare of sawtimber was produced. Not sure if I converted correctly, but is tjhat 6433 ft3/acre?

Anyway, I know loblolly's are super fast growers compared to Scots pine over here in cold Finland. I'm curious to see just how much more productive pine stands in the Southeast US are.

Cheers!

ps: I will put some photos relative to Finnish forestry once I get some good pics. Also, if anyone has any questions about Finnish forestry, ask me so I can find out, ie help me ask good questions so I can learn, too.  8)
Forester, Nantahala National Forest

WDH

Way to go Brandon-in-Finland!