iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

Portable mill

Started by draggon_9, October 27, 2009, 07:24:09 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

draggon_9

I'm just learning how start using my portable mill. After I made my first cut I suddenly realized I was going be putting screw holes in my future board to hold down my 2x4 guide board. Is there another way to hold the guide board, or do the holes disappear after the boards dry.  :-\

pasbuild

I can't help you with the anchor question but I can tell you that holes don't disappear.
If it can't be nailed or glued then screw it

zopi

Quote from: draggon_9 on October 27, 2009, 07:24:09 PM
I'm just learning how start using my portable mill. After I made my first cut I suddenly realized I was going be putting screw holes in my future board to hold down my 2x4 guide board. Is there another way to hold the guide board, or do the holes disappear after the boards dry.  :-\

Oh...I think I see..you have a chainsaw mill, yes?  level and strap down the guide board, using tie down straps and wedges or props to level the guide board...it shold be parallel to the heart of the log....when you saw up to a strap, carefully remove the strap and replace it behind the saw...use this setup for the first slab, then simply let the
mill guide bars ride on the smooth top of the log...

I recommend a read of Will Mallof's Chainsaw Lumbermaking....
Got Wood?
LT-15G GO chassis added.
WM sharpener and setter
And lots of junk.

zopi

heh..actually, I recommend a big orange bandsaw mill...
Got Wood?
LT-15G GO chassis added.
WM sharpener and setter
And lots of junk.

fishpharmer

Draggon_9 Welcome to Forestry Forum.  Glad your here.  We would like to hear more about your mill and what you plan to saw.  There are alot of wise folks here.
Built my own band mill with the help of Forestry Forum. 
Lucas 618 with 50" slabber
WoodmizerLT-40 Super Hydraulic
Deere 5065E mfwd w/553 loader