iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

Another mill shed, but with a beam question....

Started by MotorSeven, September 25, 2009, 07:11:49 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

MotorSeven

Since i built the extenstion for the LT15, I had to make a beam for the front of the mill shed. I cut and skidded a 29' poplar log, and milled it to 28'(as far as the mill would go) finishing the 4 cuts with my 361. It's about 11x11"'s centered over the heart.
I plan on spanning about 28', am I nuts?

Oh and I got to use my new 60" Logrite peavy...wow, what a nice tool!

RD
WoodMizer LT15 27' bed

backwoods sawyer

Are you planning any bracing to shorten the span? What kind of snow do you get in your area? I am not an engineer, but for the size of roof that you will be supporting, the fact that it is an out building, I would be inclined to think that you would be ok with it. If it tends to sag a bit you can always add a removable post to help carry the load.
Backwoods Custom Milling Inc.
100% portable. . Oregons largest portable sawmill service, serving all of Oregon, from our Backwoods to yours..sawing since 1991

MotorSeven

Yes, Knee braces on each end. Less than a foot of snow average. Roof will be 14' wide, tin on lathing & I will pitch it as steep as I can.
I hadn't considered a removable post...thanks!

RD
WoodMizer LT15 27' bed

beenthere

If this is a clear span of 28' under the beam, you will likely need something above it to hold up the middle (or support posts below it to do the same thing).

I'd be surprised if the beam would support itself over time, just supported at the ends.

Can you build a truss over the top of it, like a gable end?
south central Wisconsin
It may be that my sole purpose in life is simply to serve as a warning to others

MotorSeven

I could do a truss, but was hoping to get away without one........... ;)

RD
WoodMizer LT15 27' bed

Jasperfield

You can use posts on your rebuild. Your present design will fail.