iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

big bore 028?

Started by Pounce2181, September 23, 2009, 11:49:16 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Pounce2181

Someone told me they modified their 028 by using a 038 jug and piston. Is this possible? He said he used it in a stock saw comp and got disqualified after they found out at the local festival. I would have figured the crankcase would be diff. But I am new to tinkering with chainsaws so I am still a little confused with what stihl used with what models.

joe_indi

Though not one of the experts here, going by the parts list and their description, this is what I think:
Gaskets are not interchangeable, the same is the case of the piston pins, the piston and needle bearings.
The base of the jug probably differs, in relation to the 4 fastening screws, easily solved by some careful filing with a saw file.
But, what about the needle bearings?
The 028 has a needle bearing having 10x14x13mm (id x od x length)
The dimensions of the 038  needle bearing is 12x16x13mm.
So a major mod like changing the con rod or altering its dimensions would be required.

Joe

Al_Smith

You can get carried away trying to make Frankenstein saws  when a stock saw configuration might serve better .

There are a few worth pursuing such as the 034/036 top end or a few using Husqvarna saws but most are just chasing the rainbow .

I've investigated a few but just found them to be an exercise in futility  unless a person just wanted to exercise their skills at maching and I personally don't need the practice . ;)

Pounce2181

sounds like a lot of work for nothing to me

Pounce2181

Does any one know the max rpm for a 028 wood boss? Just curious. Never used a 028 before or seen one run, so just trying a little comparo. Thanks for all the info. Maybe we can return the favor someday.

Al_Smith

028---12,500 .   028 super---13,000

Pounce2181