iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

Choosing mill to resaw barn beams...suggestions?

Started by Rooster, September 06, 2009, 10:05:19 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Rooster

Ok, I know that we have wonderful FF sponsors, but...
I need you guys to help me find a mill that will re-saw barn beams up to 36ft.
I have limited experience with only WM.  I haven't been impressed with the saws ability to cut parrellel across the log, or cutting 90 deg. to the log stops.  So which mill will give me long cuts, and square beams?

Thanks,

Rooster
"We talk about creating millions of "shovel ready" jobs, for a society that doesn't really encourage anybody to pick up a shovel." 
Mike Rowe

"Old barns are a reminder of when I was young,
       and new barns are a reminder that I am not so young."
                          Rooster

backwoods sawyer

I have been looking into getting an LT-15 for doing such projects. Any of your non-remote mills would be a good choice, and considerably cheaper then setting up an extension on a remote mill. As far as square cuts, you just have to make sure of the position before putting saw to wood. If you are looking at making thin boards then you will want to compare mills to see how well the clamps and stops hold the wood over that distance.
Backwoods Custom Milling Inc.
100% portable. . Oregons largest portable sawmill service, serving all of Oregon, from our Backwoods to yours..sawing since 1991

scsmith42

Rooster, if your beams are less than 10" wide then your best bet may be a swingmill, such as the Peterson WPF.

I can cut a beam up to 56' long with mine, and it's easy to add track extensions if needed.  Plus there is no need to move the beam once it's on your bunks.

Doublecutting is an option for beams up to 20" wide, but it's hard to consistently produce double-cuts without a slight edge between them.

Just something to consider.

Scott
Peterson 10" WPF with 65' of track
Smith - Gallagher dedicated slabber
Tom's 3638D Baker band mill