iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

welding warning involving brake cleaner

Started by Dan_Shade, July 28, 2009, 06:04:01 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Dan_Shade

I saw this posted up on another site, basically, welding over metal sprayed with brake cleaner can offgas dangerous fumes, one of which being phosgene.

http://www.brewracingframes.com/id75.htm

more info here:  http://www.msha.gov/Illness_Prevention/ideas/hazchem.pdf
Woodmizer LT40HDG25 / Stihl 066 alaskan
lots of dull bands and chains

There's a fine line between turning firewood into beautiful things and beautiful things into firewood.

Maineloggerkid

Ya, people have gotten sick in the shop where dad works because of this. When I work in a shop, I tell everyone to put the Brake cleaner up when I start welding.
JD 540D cable skidder, and 2 huskies- just right.   

Loggers- Saving the world from the wrath of trees!

Dave Shepard

Phosgene gas is produced whenever you weld over a petroleum based product, or so my welding books warn. Welding can produce a number of bad things to breathe.
Wood-Mizer LT40HDD51-WR Wireless, Kubota L48, Honda Rincon 650, TJ208 G-S, and a 60"LogRite!

Don_Papenburg

Welding and cutting stainless is a new osha  bad thing now also.  It is supposed to off gas some sort of bad gas.
Frick saw mill  '58   820 John Deere power. Diamond T trucks

LeeB

On a side note, How many of you know welders that don't smoke? I think 90% of the welders I have worked around smoke. You would think they get enough punishment to their lungs.
'98 LT40HDD/Lombardini, Case 580L, Cat D4C, JD 3032 tractor, JD 5410 tractor, Husky 346, 372 and 562XP's. Stihl MS180 and MS361, 1998 and 2006 3/4 Ton 5.9 Cummins 4x4's, 1989 Dodge D100 w/ 318, and a 1966 Chevy C60 w/ dump bed.

isawlogs

Come to think of it , Lee ,  all of them on the high steel did . This one quit , but I aint doing the high steel or welding much anymore .