iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

Question on McCulloch Chainsaw.

Started by WMcGinn, May 29, 2009, 10:43:39 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

WMcGinn

I've been cutting stuff for a few years with my greenhorn Craftsman 18" saw,    and more times than one I've found it to be inadequate both power and size wise.    With our recent Ice Storm and an abundance of debris to deal with,  the shortcomings of my Craftsman enticed me to look for a bigger saw.    For $80 I bought a McCulloch saw from a neighbors brother.    It's certainly not a new saw and has seen some use,   but it started/idled/runs well.   It's a McCulloch Pro-Mac 5700-20,   with a 20" bar. 
     The chain was pretty worn so I went to buy a new one at Orschelins.....   but the 20" chain is too short,  and the 22" chain is too long,  and I can't find a 21" chain.....   then I figured out the problem,  the saw has a wide rollertop bar, requiring the longer chain...   With no ready source for this oddsized chain,   I bought a new bar/chain for $65.    Now my bargain "big" saw has cost me nearly $150.       Now the one remaining problem.....  The saw is missing the chainbreak hand guard.   The guy said he had it and would give it to me,  but turns out he can't get his hands on it.      Now I'm looking for someplace to buy a replacement.  (I dang sure don't feel comfortable using the saw without it)  I've looked online through the McCulloch parts services,  but Can't find an exact match for model number.   
       I asked a buddy for some advice and he recommended I put the McCulloch in the shed and go buy a Stihl. :0)

So here's the question.   I know McCulloch no longer makes this size saw.  1. Is it worth it to keep investing money in it?
2.  is there some place to buy used parts to fit this model?   I'm sure there's one of these saws out there that won't run but has a perfectly good chainbreak on it.     

Wm

There's plenty of room for all God's creatures...... right next to the Mashed potatoes.

Banjo picker