iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

sawmill buisiness

Started by board, May 14, 2009, 06:27:17 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

board

hello, i am new at this so if my questions sound dumb thats why. was wondering if a pearson could make a living running a sawmill, one that cuts around a 24 in. log. ive been doing constrution for 23 yrs. so i am not used to big money. i have small bandsaw i used last winter for building a log home for my wife and i. and really enjoyed it. also do you do better doing custom sawing from logs customers bring or should you buy your own logs.
paul

Bibbyman

Yes.

Welcome to the Forum!  8)
Wood-Mizer LT40HDE25 Super 25hp 3ph with Command Control and Accuset.
Sawing since '94

Banjo picker

Bibby i want to come visit you  one of these days   those 5 years on me have made an immeasurable difference in wisdom.   :D ;D ;) 8)  I'm learning from the man down under. :) as well .. Tim
Never explain, your friends don't need it, and your enemies won't believe you any way.

old joe

Welcome to the forum.  There as many viable business plans as there types and sizes of mills.  I'm sure you'll get lots of advice, all of it good.  And all of it different.  Your job is to pick out what feels right to you.

Joe
THE NEW YANKEE TIL A NEWER ONE ARRIVES THEN I\'LL BE THE OLD YANKEE

board

thanks for the advice .any is helpful. i have lots of questions u probably get tired of it. next question.what is a good sawmill to start out with. i have a mini sawmill i bought from hudson 16 in. i know its not big or durable enough. would like to stay under 15,000 if possible
paul

Brad_S.

Welcome to the forum!
Tough racket to be in but yes, you can make a living.
Here is a thread you may find interesting.
https://forestryforum.com/board/index.php/topic,11361.0.html
"Life is what happens to you while you're busy making other plans." J. Lennon

Dan_Shade