iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

Is this Tongue and Groove Technique Safe and effective?

Started by tbrickner, April 29, 2009, 10:38:17 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

tbrickner

Hi folks:

I was wondering if this tongue and groove tree felling technique was safe and effective?

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=BLkgWFh9lDs&feature=related

It looked like it may be a good technique for back leaning trees.  My worry is that this could barber chair on you or that you could loose some of your tree control cutting the back cuts too high with a traditional notch.

I wonder if this technique would work better with a humboldt cut?

Any Thoughts,
Tom

madhatte

I've used it on snags up to 18" with great results.  Beyond that, I have no experience.  I suspect that there is a point of diminishing return where the wedge is insufficient to break the holding wood free and thus renders this technique ineffective and perhaps even dangerous. 

beenthere

Appears to work ok. I was a bit tickled by the "monster" maul used to drive the steel wedge.  :D :D

When the time comes to raise that side of the tree, I'd want something that meant business. A narrower wedge would make more sense too, but for palm trees, it worked for the video.

I'd make the backcut a bit closer to where the wedge was placed, and use a low angle plastic wedge.
south central Wisconsin
It may be that my sole purpose in life is simply to serve as a warning to others

GASoline71

You couldn't pay me enough to use that weird technique... I guess it has it's place somewhere cuttin' peckerpoles.  Notice he's cuttin' a palm tree... doubt that would work on a Doug Fir...  :D :D :D

Plus the blowhard touting it... is scetchy at best.  How many tree guys do you know that are drivin' splitting wedges with a framing hammer?

Just stick with a conventional or a Humboldt... EZPZ

Gary
\"...if ya mess with the bull... ya gets the horn.\"

chucker

hummm ? never seen this type of felling! interesting at least.....