iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

Boot break in...

Started by CounselorJ, April 06, 2009, 08:32:29 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

CounselorJ

Hey folks,
    I'm new to the forestry scene, as I'm in the middle of a career change from something entirely different.  I'm a grad student here at UMaine, and I've gone and quit my steady job to take a summer position up here.  Now, I've never had a pair of good logging boots.  I bought a pair of Red Wings at the local boot shop and greased them up good.  I've got about a month before I need to really start using them.  Any tips for breaking them in?  I've been taking the dog for 30 min walks in them for the past two days, and they seem to be starting, but I figured you folks might know some good tricks or tips that I don't.  Or, I might just need to keep wearing them?

Thanks for any advice you can send a noobie...

beenthere

Years back, I followed the advice to walk in water to get them soaked real good, then walk/wear them untill they were  some dry. That would stretch the places needing stretching and shrink those places needing shrinking.
After drying, oiled them good and wore them some more. Seemed to work in the 60's/70's for Red Wings.

Then, I was introduced to Danner's and they started right off being/feeling "broke in". Haven't had a different boot brand since 1983.

Don't know why oiling good and wearing them after oiling wouldn't do the same as soaking in water.

Welcome to the forum. Others will have good tips for you.
south central Wisconsin
It may be that my sole purpose in life is simply to serve as a warning to others

thecfarm

I suppose you know about the Expo?
https://forestryforum.com/board/index.php/topic,35903.0.html