iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

Timberframing class in the Southeast

Started by Dan_Lambert, February 26, 2009, 07:45:30 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Dan_Lambert

I'm interested in participating in a timber framing class somewhere within reasonable distance of Atlanta.

I would like your input on classes offered in the area, and if anyone has a specific recommendation.

Thanks in advance. I'm a fairly accomplished woodworker, but I want to expand into doing timber framing in a proper manner, and I want to learn how it SHOULD be done, rather than trying to learn as I go.

Dan
"They that can give up essential liberty to purchase a little temporary safety, deserve neither liberty nor safety." --Benjamin Franklin

sheneman

You cannot go wrong with Scott Stevens and Grand Oaks Timber Framing in Tennessee:

http://www.grandoakstimberframing.com/

I took a week long class in the spring of 2007, and loved every minute of it.    It is in Paris, Tennessee which is not too   far from you.  It looks like Scott is offering classes in March and April this year as well as a Fall class.  The $550 class fee was a bargain.

If I recall correctly, Scott apprenticed with Goshen, so many of his techniques that he will share with his students were acquired there.

Good luck and enjoy!

-Luke
--
Woodmizer 25hp LT15 with 6\\\' bed extension.
Logging with a Jeep Cherokee, a Warn Winch, and a Stihl MS 260

mac37

i took aclass at goshen for aweek oct of 08 built a 10x12 hammer beam   cost was like 425 for the class and tools

Dan_Lambert

Thanks, guys. I had already considered Goshen, and was not aware of Grand Oaks. I'll look into both and see if I can work it out to make one of their classes.

I appreciate the feedback, and hopefully, someone else will chime in with another suggestion or two. I'm actually aiming to do the class in the fall, so I have a little time to decide on which one to attend.

Dan