iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

Approaching Foresters

Started by PAFaller, February 22, 2009, 05:42:42 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

PAFaller

Okay, so this one goes out to you guys who make your living dealing with landowners and throwing paint on trees ect. I have a degree in forest management from the University of New Hampshire, but always liked the logging and production side of things more than consulting. And in NH and Maine there was decent demand for good loggers that were neat, courteous, and reflected well on the forester. Now that I live in PA I am trying to get out on my own completely and want to work with, rather than compete against foresters for the resource. However, PA is a bit backwards in that many foresters work on commission sales and dont do as much management type work as you would think. I want to take my business in the direction of low grade harvesting and Timber Stand Improvement work being as I have really good and steady low grade markets. My question is how to approach other industry folks and convince them to give me a shot without sounding like a logger just looking for them to throw me a bone. I am sure they already get that quite a bit and I dont want to be lumped in with the run and gun sawlog guys that everyone is hesitant to deal with. I also want to cut junk timber and do a good job, so the prices are fair but certainly not going to be huge money makers for anyone involved. Am I crazy to think that its going to work talking to foresters and working together with them or would you pros be more than happy to work with a young guy who wants to put his skills and degree to work in a production harvesting setting? Thanks, Greg
It ain't easy...

Brian Beauchamp

Please move to Oklahoma.