iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

New here. Woodmizer LT 10 or LT 15.

Started by DJL50, February 22, 2009, 05:24:04 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

DJL50

Hello!

First post here.  :)

I have been reading here with great interest. Thanks for all your info you give.

My brother and I is interested in buying a sawmill. This will just be a hobby at first but would like to make some money on the side. with a possible small business down the road.  I am a woodworker so I like the thought of getting to work with non standard woods. My brother works with a guy who does firewood on the side and has access to smaller log. 6 foot or less.
Our first thought was to get a middle of the road Woodmizer but am concerned this will not turn into the extra income we would hope for. Just a hobby tool. That is a lot of money to wrap up in something that will not get used much. So now we have turned our focus to the LT10 or LT 15. WE could use it and if successful upgrade. Mills seem to hold there value.

So I guess questions I have are...

1) will we be disappointed with a LT 10. Our exceptions are not high of a mill. Just ant something that will be usable.
     I was set on a LT15 but was reading of a 19 yo member that get a LT10 and seems to have good luck with it. I will     keep reading with interest.

2) Is there a time of year that Woodmizer runs a big sale or a "best time to buy". We are in no hurry for this mill.

3) we are only 2hrs or so from Woodmizer. Do they have demos at the home office at times?

Kevin

I wouldn't buy anything smaller than an LT-15 with the largest engine.
Too bad they discontinued the trailer package for them.

submarinesailor

I completely concur with Kevin.  I have an LT 15 and have taken several very close looks at the LT10.  I don't like the LT10.  It's a WoodMizer so it well built, but it's not an LT 15.  If I had to do it again, I would get the biggest motor on the 15 I could.  Diesel if you can get it.

Bruce

fishpharmer