iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

Sapwood in beams and plates

Started by tam, February 09, 2009, 12:03:06 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

tam

Hello, my first post although I've been reading and learning here for some time.

My background is in construction carpentry and joinery. No practical experience with traditional timber framing.

I would like to build the frame in Jack Sobon' Classic Timber-Framed House but I'm having trouble sourcing 8"x10" timbers free of sapwood for plates, girding and tie beams.

I have spoken to some local loggers who can sell Japanese cypress up to 13" diameter with around 2 inches of sapwood. The heartwood is very resistant to bugs and rot, the sapwood less so.

Logs that could produce these beams free of sapwood are fairly rare around here and come with a hefty price tag. Would folks here advise against using this material in plates and beams even in dry positions within the frame? 

ARKANSAWYER

If they are in the dry then there will be no problem.   For sills on stone or concrete try to put a vapor or water barrier down to help protect the sapwood.  If you have a timber that has more heart wood on a face and you can put it down/out to the face that will take the weather.
  It is just not a problem over there.  Even here the trees from which timbers are sawn are getting smaller.
ARKANSAWYER

Raphael

I have the same frame cut in Spruce, it's got plenty of sapwood and wane, no problems.
Unless the sapwood on Japanese cypress is unusually weak you should be fine provided you keep it dry and protected as Arky says.
... he was middle aged,
and the truth hit him like a man with no parachute.
--Godley & Creme

Stihl 066, MS 362 C-M & 24+ feet of Logosol M7 mill

tam

Thanks for the replies.

Arkansawyer: just what I wanted to hear. I'm still at the sourcing materials stage and the more local the better. For the posts and sills I have in mind hardwood and will need to look further afield.