iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

Gonna build a swing mill!

Started by TinMan, February 02, 2009, 01:19:50 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

TinMan

Hello

I am working on building a swing mill. Its going to be electric to start with, my boss says I can run it off his power behind the shop where i work. I have a gear box on the way and have already purchased a nice 10hp electric motor. My next purchase is a blade. Anyone know if there is a saw place around here in Oregon where i can find a blade? Probably end up getting one from Craig (Captain) if I cant find anything around here. I used to own a Peterson ATS 8 and sold it to BurlKraft Steve. I miss it and cant afford to buy one again, but I can build my own. I work in a shop where we build everything from aluminum boats to billet lower receivers for AR-15s, 308 and 50bmg, and everything in between. We have a large waterjet pro, and an Esab CNC plasma cutter for custom cut parts. A 16 foot brake, and a 12 foot shear. Oh and 3 Haas mills for the receivers and whatever else. My boss said go for it.... 8) Anyone have any input? I know dangerous dan has a electric swinger. Anyone esle ever build one?

Tracy

Meadows Miller

Gday Tracy

Ive never built a swinger but thought about it alot and even did a set of turbo cad plans for one that looked like a Wpf  ;) :D ;D done a few thousand hours on them tho and probobley got another 10 thou left to go on the Lucas prob last me another 20 yrs  ;) :D :D :D I dont see any dramas with building your own mate plenty of ppl have had a crack at it in the past  ;) with variaing degrees of success  ;) :D :D ;D I know an old Bloke overhere that made his on and it worked a treat  ;) ;D ;D 8)
It sounds like you have it pretty much nutted out how your gonna sett it up and your experiance on the Ats you had makes all the differance  ;) ;D 8)