iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

websites for timber frame tools

Started by Pineneedle, December 24, 2008, 01:25:44 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Pineneedle

I'm just getting started in timber framing and am looking for good websites for tools.  Anyone have any suggestions?  Also what would you consider to be the first tools I should invest in?
Wood-Mizer LT40HDD33-RA
with Accuset & 33HP Kubota diesel

Radar67

Welcome to the forum, you will enjoy it here.

Right here is a good place to start. Our resident expert, Jim, sells tools. Check them out here.

https://forestryforum.com/board/index.php/topic,3531.0.html

He always has some good quality tools available.
"A man's time is the most valuable gift he can give another." TOM

If he can cling to his Blackberry, I can cling to my guns... Me

This will kill you, that will kill you, heck...life will kill you, but you got to live it!

"The man who can comprehend the why, can create the how." SFC J

Dave Shepard

Jim Rogers has a great selection of tools. I've seen them many times, and even have a few of them. ;D I'd start by reading this thread. You will need basic carpentry tools, as well as some specialty tools, such as chisels and slicks. I prefer boring machines to power drills, and a good boring machine doesn't cost any more than a good power drill. I've a HoleHawg, but it is so aggressive, it must be stopped well before the bottom of the hole, as it keeps chewing for a few seconds after you stop pressing the trigger. :D

This is the place to ask questions and tell us about your project. :) Oh, welcome to the Forum!
Wood-Mizer LT40HDD51-WR Wireless, Kubota L48, Honda Rincon 650, TJ208 G-S, and a 60"LogRite!

moonhill

HoleHawgs must be murder on the operator.  I have never tried the electric drill mortising method. 

I would say the first tool to invest in is knowledge of the craft, which is gained by study and hands on work.  Don't hold back get out there and do it, make some mistakes and have a ball. 

Tim