iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

Another red cedar question

Started by Ron Wenrich, December 18, 2008, 05:23:00 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Ron Wenrich

I just got my old VW fixed up, and the mechanic said that I should spread some moth balls around the car to keep the mice out of the car.

That got me to thinking.  Red cedar keeps moths out of clothing, just like moth balls.  So, would I be able to keep mice out by spreading red cedar shavings?  Or am I just giving the mice some real nice bedding material?   :D
Never under estimate the power of stupid people in large groups.

Jeff

We'll need a picture to be able to answer.
Just call me the midget doctor.
Forestry Forum Founder and Chief Cook and Bottle Washer.

Commercial circle sawmill sawyer in a past life for 25yrs.
Ezekiel 22:30

johnjbc

I don't know about the cedar keeping mice out but I have some experience with mothballs. Our camp which is an old house trailer was infested with mice. After the Black Snake moved in to feed on them and went to sleep in my wife's sleeping bag  :D she was bound to do something  bat_smailey. Someone told her that mothballs would get rid of the mice so she bought a couple boxes and put them everywhere, in the closets, drawers under the couch cushions, bed, and anywhere else she could find. The next trip up when I opened the door the smell almost knocked me down, but we still had mice. We haven't had any more snakes so I guess the mothball did something.
LT40HDG24, Case VAC, Kubota L48, Case 580B, Cat 977H, Bobcat 773

Ron Wenrich

Quote from: Jeff on December 18, 2008, 05:25:01 PM
We'll need a picture to be able to answer.

Of the car or of the mice?

Jeff

bmill

Go buy those things my wife throws in the dryer, those little square cloth like things (dryer sheets?). We use them every winter in our outbuilding and you won't get a mouse, snake or anything near them. Works like a champ and completely safe.