iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

log moving woes

Started by oakiemac, July 08, 2003, 05:30:14 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

oakiemac

I'm new to saw milling (loving every minute) and have only moved and cut rather small logs, that is until Monday. A friend gave me a 24' long 26" DIB red oak that blew down in a storm. I cut the log into 3- 8' sections. Now the fun really begins! I don't have any big equipment, just a truck with a front winch, two cant hooks, a come-along and a teenage son. It took us two mornings and several gallons of sweat to get just one 8' log onto the trailer.(I loved every minute of it) I guess my question is, what is the easyiest way of moving these logs with out purchasing large equipment? The winch was able to pull the logs to the road side, then we fought with the biggest for a long time to get it parrallel to the road so we could winch it up the planks and into the trailer. What a lot of work!! Does anyone have any tips or cheaper pieces of equipment that I should get?  ??? Did I mention that I'm loving every minute?
Mobile Demension sawmill, Bobcat 873 loader, 3 dry kilns and a long "to do" list.

Furby

Do you have any pics.? If I can see the trailer it might help.
Does your winch come off the truck or do you have a front hitch on the truck?
I managed to get my 40" 8' pine OFF the trailer over the fender with a jack, a come-along, and a lot of sweat. ;D The 32" 8' is still on because I don't want any marks on it and the halves are to heavy to lift. ;D
I got a few ideas to get them ON, but I need more info. and pics. would be great.

Kevin

You can use multiple blocks and reduce the pull weight .

oakiemac

Tomorrow, I'll try to post some pics. The winch is mounted on the front bumper and doesn't come off.
Mobile Demension sawmill, Bobcat 873 loader, 3 dry kilns and a long "to do" list.

Kevin

That's less than 2k lbs., you might consider a rope or wire rope portable winch.

Neil_B

Here's what you need oakiemac ;D