iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

Should i get a GIS certificate?

Started by VTLogSlayer, November 05, 2008, 09:38:56 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

VTLogSlayer

Hello, Im new to FF and am currently attending Paul Smith's College in upstate NY going for my bachelors in Industrial forest operations.  What do people think about getting my GIS certificate.  I have heard a lot of people saying that GIS is used widely across the forestry field.  Any ideas thought or comment would be really appreciated.    Thank you
ms361 20" 
044 20"
Polaris xcsp 600
97' Land Rover Discovery

Ron Scott

Yes, definitely I would get well trained in GIS for your forestry use. Keep up with all the technology applications for forestry as they will certainly be of benefit to you.

One of the things I find with the "new foresters" is that they have education and working knowledge of time saving GPS technology and applications which I being from the "old school" don't have and wish I did.

~Ron

RynSmith

I can't speak to the industry side, but working in ArcMap was a major part of my job as a prescription forester in the Forest Service.  If you have any thoughts about working for the government (state or federal) I think that you should get all the GIS experience you can. 

And I'm sure it wouldn't hurt for private/industrial either  ;)

VTLogSlayer

Thank you very much for your help! Even though i am an industrial forest major i would like to work for the forest service so by the sounds of it the more experience the better. Thanks again.  Anymore advise would be great.
ms361 20" 
044 20"
Polaris xcsp 600
97' Land Rover Discovery

Jeff

Welcome to the Forestry Forum VTLogSlayer.  I have a question for you.  How did you find us?  I'm guessing an invitation from a classmate?  It looks like we have perhaps 4 new members from Paul Smith in the last month.  :)
Just call me the midget doctor.
Forestry Forum Founder and Chief Cook and Bottle Washer.