iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

Morbark 3036

Started by Wrenchman, August 02, 2008, 12:03:46 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Wrenchman

Anybody have any experience with blowing chips into van trailers out of a whole tree chipper? We're having issues with filling the front of the trailers and also plugging the chute with fine material.

judochop

Definitely no experience here but a shot in the dark I
would ask is there a vent out of the van? If so is it plugged
causing a back pressure slowing down the flow of what you
blowing in there especially the fine stuff ?

Wrenchman

Yep, 4 vents per side on the van trailers. We also have an open top trailer that the chipper can't push it to the front.

We've put a blower system on the discharge chute to help prevent plugging and also hoped the added air would help throw the chips further, but to no avail.

Maineloggerkid

Im no expert, but are the gears and/or hydraulics in the blower unit in servicable condition? How old is the machine, does it need some TLC??

Im not saying that its beat up, Im just tossing some questions out there.
JD 540D cable skidder, and 2 huskies- just right.   

Loggers- Saving the world from the wrath of trees!

Wrenchman

Blower was rebuilt with new bearings and balanced, new hydraulic motor as well. Chipper is in good mechanical shape, chips great but the majority of the time, it will only throw the chips roughly 40 feet.  Van trailers are 45 feet and the open top is 48 feet.

Im not saying that its beat up, Im just tossing some questions out there.
[/quote]

Not a problem. No, it's not a pile of junk  ;). We average 375-450 tons of chips per week so the chipper works well. Just not happy with sending a trailer out not completely loaded on long hauls to the mill. (Especially with fuel prices nowadays).

Ron Wenrich